Picture
40 Days left and I owe you all a blog on an article. 2 days ago EW.com posted a hugely great article about Jack's love life and more, chock full of quotes from John and company. Also a huuuuuuuge spoiler for Torchwood: Miracle Day, a spoiler we'll talk about, but I'll warn you before. You've read these blogs from me before, I'll post snippets and discuss, here we go! Wait, no, read the ARTICLE first...but only if you do not fear that spoiler.

Ok now that we're all read up, or decided against reading let's continue.

...fans worried the show’s immortal bisexual hero, Captain Jack Harkness, would be portrayed differently.

Not me, but in general. This is actually an understatement. Many fans were very vocal about how the US would  water down the character, make him less slutty and more straight, if not completely straight.  Honestly I think this concern was a bit silly but I think British fans have a not quite right opinion of American TV. Not that it matters, because now we have a promise from John Barrowman that that is not the case, which you'll see in the next quote. 

“I knew they would be true to the show and not change drastically,” says star John Barrowman. “If it was watered down, I wouldn’t have done it."

Preach John! I mean really, knowing John, knowing how he cares about the character and knowing the person he is, why did anyone ever doubt he would be involved if it was all wonky? No, I've said it before and I'll say it again, in Barrowman I trust. This show is going to be amazing and I know it because John says so.

As for his character’s love life, Barrowman says Capt. Jack “gets to have full-on boy-sex a couple of times.

First of all ,oh yes, this is exciting. We're all excited, don't act like it's not hot. Also I love, love, love that John said "full on boy sex" that is so cute. Ha, oh John. So yea, I am not concerned the show will be watered down, I think it's going to be revved up if anything. And if it is less than completely...revealing...I think that will have more to do with the BBC restriction as  to what they can air, because the same show has to air on both channels. Just saying.

“The portrayal of gay, bisexual, and lesbian characters [in America] is currently way ahead of Britain,” Davies says.

This part of the article made me stop and think for a while. I think that most American's do think of the UK as being more open to homosexuality in television and movies, but I don't think Davies is wrong. The situation once I step back is this...American TV will push gay character's further and show more explicitly relationships, but British TV has more gay characters. It's more common to have gay characters but you all don't see as much. I don't think this aspect of the show will be something to worry about, as John said, full-on boy sex.

PAUSE: Hey guys, remember I said before I would warn you before the part with the spoiler? Here's me warning you, if you don't want to know, and it is something significant, don't read further.

SPOILER ALERT - STOP READING IF YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW

Yet Captain Jack is – spoiler alert — suddenly mortal, putting himself at risk fighting a sea of enemies who cannot be killed.

For this I want to return us to my 74 Days blog where I discussed what the MDD (Miracle Day Dilemma) would do to Jack's FFP (Fixed Point Predicament) it goes on quite a bit about what could happen but for the sake of this the interesting bit is my thought at the end that "...maybe he doesn't heal and for the first time since that day on Satellite 5 Jack has to be careful with himself." I definitely thought this could be the way they chose to go with it.

I think it's a cool idea but I am wondering how exactly they will explain it and how he knows. How can someone tell they are mortal without dying? Maybe he just doesn't heal as he's used to and assumes, or maybe he just doesn't know and so he's worried? Or maybe, someone tells him he is? It's tough to say but I am excited by this and I think it will be really cool to see Jack deal with it. And I think he'll be back to normal (more or less) by the end of the series and have to deal with going back to being "wrong" at the end of it all.

A lot of people are considering the Face of BOE thing and assuming he has to end up immortal again. But, we don't KNOW he is for a fact the FOB and really the FOB dies at the end of the day so he IS mortal, just long lived. Maybe, just maybe, the MDD changes him fundamentally enough so that Jack is mortal, just long lived. Or maybe Jack always had an eventual end and going back to Jack's normal is still mortal one day.

“You’re going to get a lot into the history of Jack,” Barrowman teases. “You see one of his big relationships that defines a lot about who he is.*

This is the best part of the article for me. The things I love most about Jack are unraveling the mysteries of his character, of his past and his relationship with Ianto. And let's be real, that's what he's talking about. Ianto effected him and 3 days later I am now considering maybe I was wrong. Maybe We'll see Gareth back on the show after all. I don't think that Ianto will be resurrected, I wish, but I could see them doing something like a flash back, maybe even new scenes from the past we've not seen. *Fingers crossed*

“It’s faithful and careful and honest, but at the same time, it’s brand-new for a whole new audience." (RTD)

The article ends on this note from RTD about how the show will only change for the better and keep everything we love about Torchwood as is, with the obvious exception of no longer living characters, unless they resurrect. Honestly guys I just don't know what to expect anymore, the only thing I am sure of is John loves it and I will too. In Barrowman I trust.

So what do you think of the major spoiler? Do you think it's a good idea? How about the full-on boy sex? Do you feel more reassured now that John and co. are saying everything will be alright? xx

<3Dana

Countdown
All "Countdown" Blogs

katie
5/29/2011 05:44:29 pm

some really amazing point ans the spoiler... WOW, i trust entirely in that barrowman wont be "sexed-down" however i am worried that Russell T Davis ( who im still a little mad at for saying Ianto doesnt matter too the storyline anymore ) i worry that he will not show that Iantos death had an effect on Jack and should be something to focus on in order too keep the series flowing as one.i also think that if gwen has a baby who Rhys has too look after, surely that means that Rhys doesnt get much screen time again? Any truth in that i suppose we'll have too wait and see.
Most importantly i think is the spoiler predicament, i think that if Jack cant die then it will qdd more suspence because not only can he not rush in and save the day without fear of consequences, he will no longer be the hard boiled fearless "almost-alien" that we all know and love.A big mistkae there i think but thats just me.

Reply
5/29/2011 08:16:06 pm

Staggering spoiler... I knew Jack would have to personally confront his own strange status in some way, but not like this. How interesting, nevertheless.

Reply



Leave a Reply.